Applicants for SWPL Promotions Received

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The list of clubs applying for promotion to the Premier, East and West divisions have been announced by the South West Peninsula League.

Step 7 to Step 6: (East & West to Premier)

Crediton United – East Division
Elburton Villa – West Division
Newton Abbot Spurs – East Division
Porthleven – West Division
St Dennis – West Division
Sticker – West Division
Stoke Gabriel – East Division

Feeder Leagues to Step 7:
Bere Alston United – East Cornwall Premier
Braunton – North Devon League
Buckland Athletic * – South Devon League
Heavitree United – Devon & Exeter League
Honiton Town – Devon & Exeter League
Ilfracombe Town – North Devon League
Ludgvan – Cornwall Combination
Newtown – Devon & Exeter League
Waldon Athletic – South Devon League

*Buckland Athletic application is subject to the first-team gaining entry to the Evo-Stil League Southern Division One South & West. If they do not gain promotion then this application will fail.

Premier Division:

One club from each of East and West is eligible for promotion each season. The eligible club must pass the ground grading first and then finish within the top three places only to be considered. Should two clubs be eligible for promotion then two clubs will be relegated, if one club then only the bottom side will be relegated. Likewise, should a club be promoted to Step 5 then relegation will be reduced, in all cases the side finishing 19th will be reprieved ahead of the side finishing 20th.

Division One East & West:

Up to four clubs are eligible to be promoted each season.

The two Step 7 divisions currently have thirty-six clubs in membership, rules allow maximum of thirty-six, so both are currently full. If after ground grading and final league positions are known four clubs are acceptable the bottom two in each division will be relegated. If two clubs are acceptable the bottom side in each division are relegated and the sides in 17th are reprieved. If no sides are eligible for promotion, then there would be no relegation.

If, however, one or three sides are eligible and provided the relevant clubs wish to remain in membership they are entitled to a play-off match under the same rules as the league cup final to decide who remains members, eg., if just one side coming up it would be 18th v 18th, if three sides coming up such a game would be 17th v 17th.

The maximum strength of the league is 56 clubs, 20 in Premier and 18 in each of East & West.

All clubs will now be ground graded for the standards required and these must be in place by the 31st March. After the ground visits the clubs will be informed if they are acceptable or not. Those that are acceptable ground wise will then be ranked based on final league positions to determine who are offered places.


About Author

Former Swansea City and Kettering Town defender who has been managing the likes of Kettering Town u18s, Rothwell Town, Desborough Town and Wellingborough Town for 33 years as well as being technical director at AFC Rushden & Diamonds. Began in non-League journalism as editor of Team Talk magazine back in the early 1990s and then as editor of Non-League Daily, joining Pitchero to set up Pitchero Non-League in January 2011. Also works for the National League.

Comments are closed.