Pitchero ad

Basford Finally Clinch The Title

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Basford United won the Evo-Stik League South championship on Thursday night.

Runaway leaders for many months, Martin Curruthers` side finally clinched the title after collecting the three points they needed with a 5-0 win at second-bottom Market Drayton Town.

It was virtually game over by half-time as Basford led 3-0 with goals from Kieran Fenton after 20 minutes, Liam Hearn 3 minutes later and Fenton again right on the interval whistle.

Fernando Bell-Toxtle added a third goal 8 minutes after the break and Rob Duffy made it a nap hand 16 minutes from time.

Alvechurch`s hopes of finishing in the second automatic promotion slot suffered a blow, however, when they were beaten 1-0 at Cleethorpes Town, for whom Curtis Bateson grabbed an 86th minute winner.

Gresley FC beat Carlton Town by the odd goal in five at The Moat in the evening`s other game.

Tyler Blake gave the Nottinghamshire visitors an 18th minute lead that Matt Melbourne cancelled out 8 minutes later.

Kane Lee added a second just before the break for the Moatmen, for whom Melbourne made it 3-1 with 65 minutes gone, rendering Blake`s second from the penalty spot in stoppage time as just a consolation.


About Author

Comments are closed.