Pitchero ad

Conference Awards and AGM Details….

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The AGM of the Football Conference and Awards Dinner took place at Celtic Manor, Newport on Saturday.

The constitution of the three divisions were announced and approved and a number of rules and regulations were agreed and passed but the proposed changes to new financial structure regulations was deferred, although clubs are still required to submit budgets for examination.

Whilst the clubs supported wholeheartedly that financial prudence and sustainability had to be achieved, some concerns were expressed around the matter of playing budgets and in particular the use of loans.

Rather than railroad these changes through at this time, the chairman received support that the matter would be considered further by the Financial Compliance Committee, via more consultation with member clubs, to allow the new regulations to be represented and come into force at a later date.

For 2012/13 the Football Conference Board will consist of:


Brian Lee (Independent)

Board Directors:

Charles Clapham (Southport)
Wayne Allen (Kidderminster Harriers)
Gary Sweet (Luton Town)
Chris Blight (Newport County AFC)
Lee Carter (AFC Telford United)
Graham Wood (Gateshead)
Nigel Collins (Solihull Moors)
David Martin (Dorchester Town)

Elected to represent the Football Conference at the Football Association:

Charles Clapham and David Martin

The Awards Dinner which followed was the largest ever in its 33-year history with over 600 in attendance, with the ceremony being hosted by Caroline Barker from the BBC Radio Non-League Show and Alan Alger from Blue Square Bet.

A summary of the awards were:

Community Club of the Year

BSBP – Kidderminster Harriers
BSBN – Boston United
BSBS – Woking

…with each club receiving a cheque for £10,000.

Programme of the Year

BSBP – Gateshead
BSBN – Boston United
BSBS – Staines Town

Press Officer of the Year

BSBP – Derick Thomas (Fleetwood Town)
BSBN – Craig Singleton (Boston United)
BSBS – Chris Evans (Chelmsford City

Blue Square Bet Premier Team of the Year

Mark Tyler (Luton Town)
Shaun Beeley (Fleetwood Town)
Mark Creighton (Wrexham)
Janos Kovacs (Luton Town)
Nat Knight-Percival (Wrexham)
Matty Blair (York City)
Lee Fowler (Fleetwood Town)
James Meredith (York City)
Jamie Vardy (Fleetwood Town)
Jon Shaw (Gateshead)
Liam Hearn (Grimsby Town)

Blue Square Bet North Team of the Year

Steven Drench (Guiseley)
Andrew Pearson (Hyde)
Gianluca Havern (Hyde)
Adam Griffin (Hyde)
Simon Ainge (Guiseley)
Ryan Crowther (Hyde)
Greg Wilkinson (Stalybridge Celtic)
Jack Rea (Stalybridge Celtic)
Scott Spencer (Hyde)
Damian Reeves (Altrincham)
Dwight Gale (Bishop’s Stortford)

Blue Square Bet South Team of the Year

Kevin Scriven (Sutton United)
Kenny Clark (Chelmsford City)
Alan Inns (Woking)
Tom Champion (Dartford)
Jack Obersteller (Welling United)
Harry Beautyman (Sutton United)
Jack Parkinson (Welling United)
Jack King (Woking)
Loick Pires (Welling United)
Frannie Collin (Tonbridge Angels)
Giuseppe Sole (Woking)

Fair Play (On field discipline ONLY)

BSBP – Stockport County
BSBN – Nuneaton Town
BSBS – Sutton United

Top Scorer
BSBP – Jamie Yardy (Fleetwood Town)
BSBN – Damian Reeves (Altringham)
BSBS – Frannie Collin (Tonbridge Angels)

Manager of the Year

BSBP – Micky Mellon (Fleetwood Town)
BSBN – Gary Lowe (Hyde)
BSBS – Garry Hill (Woking)

Respect Awards (Club judged to have contributed best)

Altrincham (Overall winners)
Special Recognition – Ebbsfleet United and Dartford


About Author

Comments are closed.