Pitchero ad

FA Announcement Regarding Step 3 & Step 4 League Structure

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

At their recent meeting, the FA’s Leagues Committee decided the principles to be applied when allocating clubs at Steps 3 and 4 for season 2018/19.

The Committee decision was taken after hearing the results of two exercises, the first using the tables at the end of season 2016/17 and the second based on the tables as at January 2nd, 2018.

At Step 3 the decision is to implement a north division (administered by the Evo-Stik Northern Premier League), a central ‘band’ from the east coast to the west of Birmingham, together with a south west division (administered by the Evo-Stik Southern League) and a south east division (administered by the Bostik Isthmian League).

At Step 4 there will be seven geographic areas, with the Isthmian League having responsibility for three divisions, the Southern League for two divisions and the Northern Premier League will be responsible for clubs in an area from just south of Nottingham up to the Scottish border, which will be split into two divisions as it is now.

The Northern Premier League is calling a meeting of its clubs to decide whether to remain with a north/south split or to change to an east/west allocation.

In issuing the decision, an FA statement said: “It is emphasised that this is a guide only at this time. We have deliberately not included names of clubs because the full allocation can only be made when the identities of the constituent clubs are known.

“It is clarified that this is for season 2018/19 and the make-up of clubs in future seasons may alter this approach”.


About Author

Comments are closed.