Pitchero ad

Maguire Takes The Premier Player Of The Year Award At The NPL Awards Night

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Last night saw the annual Evo-Stik Northern Premier League Awards Evening held in Barnsley at the plush Brooklands holiday Inn.

It was a season where no player picked up more than one individual award, with the gongs being handed out by the guest of honour, the former Wrexham and Wolves manager Dean Saunders.

The Premier Division Player Of The Year award went to Blyth Spartans’ Daniel Maguire. He capped off a memorable weekend by picking up the award just 24 hours after helping the North East side win promotion out of the Northern Premier League, his 26 goals being critical for the club’s promotion.

He was also to come third place in the supporters player of the year award.

While Marcus Dinanga of Matlock Town took the Young player Of The Year award for the Premier Division.

The forward has impressed many people during his loan spell at the Derbyshire club from Championship side Burton Albion.

Each division has a team of the season and the Premier Division’s team read: Shane Bland (Whitby Town), Andy White (Nantwich Town), Jack Duggan (Stourbridge), Dan Scarr (Stourbridge), Kallum Griffiths (Spennymoor Town), Robbie Dale (Blyth Spartans), Dale Hopson (Whitby Town), Sean Cooke (Nantwich Town), Marcus Dinanga (Matlock Town), Luke Benbow (Stourbridge) and Daniel Maguire (Blyth Spartans)

James Walshaw has been key to Farsley Celtic’s quest for promotion and it was no surprise that he took the Payer Of The Year award for the First Division North. The leading scorer for the division has bagged 31 goals this season as the Villagers lead the table a point ahead of Lancaster City.

Meanwhile, Elliott Rokka of Radcliffe Borough picked up the Young Player Of The Year award for the division The young forward has scored nine goals in 16 games for the Boro this season. It was a great night for Rokka as he bagged the runners-up spot in the vote for supporters player of the year award.

The team of the season was dominated by Farsley Celtic players, as four players made up the team of the year, Graeme Kibbin, Aaron Hardy, Lewis Nightingale and James Walshaw.

In full the team was Graeme Kibbin (Farsley Celtic), Adam Sumner (Lancaster City), Tyrone Gray (Ossett Town), Chris Anderson (Tadcaster Albion), Aaron Hardy (Farsley Celtic), Lewis Nightingale (Farsley Celtic), Sam Bailey (Kendal Town), Jonathan Greening (Tadcaster Albion), Jordan Connerton (Lancaster City), James Walshaw (Farsley Celtic) and Aaron Burns (Trafford FC).

When you have Gavin Allott in your side you always know that you are going to get goals and this season has been no different for the former Frickley Athletic man as he has bagged 24 goals so far this season for Shaw Lane as they look for promotion to the Premier Division, he was rewarded for his goals by scooping the Player Of The Year award for the First Division South.

While Witton Albion’s Bradley Bauress picked up the Young Player Of The Year award. The Cheshire club is in the hunt for promotion this season thanks in part to his 18 league goals that he has netted for the side.

Michael Duggan (Spalding United), Matty Devine (Witton Albion), Nathan Stanfield (Spalding United), Liam Dolman (AFC Rushden and Diamonds), Anthony Gardener (Witton Albion), Ryan Qualter (Shaw Lane AFC), Bradley Bauress (Witton Albion), Kelvin Lugsden (Shaw Lane), Gavin Allott (Shaw Lane), Anthony Malbon (Kidsgrove Athletic) and Bradley Wells (Spalding United) made up the team of the year for the NPL First Division South.

The Northern Premier League runs it own successful academy league and the Player Of The Year winner was by midfielder Lewis Belgrave of Mickleover Sports.

While the team for the academy, which boasted four players from the Derbyshire club of Mickleover Sports was made up of Jordan Pierpoint (Matlock Town), Manzoor Amiri (Mickleover Sports), Joe Ruane (Warrington Town), Scott Taylor (Belper Town), Morgan Williams (Mickleover Sports), Lewis Belgrave (Mickleover Sports), Adam Leach (Radcliffe Borough), Stephen Stretton (Radcliffe Borough), Jordan Lee (Matlock Town), Jake Dickinson (Mickleover Sports) and Euan Woods (Warrington Town)

Each season the supporters get to chose their own winners through the Northern Premier League Facebook group this year Dale Hopson of Whitby Town took the prize ahead of Rokka and Maguire. Hopson has been key for Blues in their promotion push.

The other award that was handed out on Sunday night was the lifetime achievement award, which went to Clitheroe FC chairwomen, Ann Barker.


About Author

Comments are closed.